Did you know that:

20% of the population suffers from some form of disability

98% of sites are inaccessible to those with some form of disability


What it is and why it is important

In the world, 1 billion of people suffering from some kind of disability. Only in Italy there are 3 million, more than 5% of the population.

Accessibility is the set of practices that aims to make information available to these people as well, in the most complete way possible and without limitations.

Access to information and communication technologies is recognized by the United Nations Convention on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities as a fundamental human right.

In Italy, the tired law of 2004, defines 'peraccessibility means the ability of computer systems, including websites and mobile applications, in the forms and within the limits permitted by technological knowledge, to provide services and provide usable information, without discrimination, even by those who due to disability they need assistive technologies or particular configurations'

WCAG 2.1

Online accessibility

To facilitate the task of making their contents accessible to institutions and companies, the consortium W3C(World Wide Web Consortium) in collaboration with individuals and organizations around the world, has developed guidelines with the aim of providing a shared standard for web content accessibility that meets the needs of individuals, organizations and governments at the international.

The guidelines for the accessibility of Web content (Web Content Accessibility Guidelines - WCAG) define technical specifications to make web content more accessible to people with disabilities. Accessibility concerns a large variety of disability, including those visual, auditory, physical, vowels, cognitive ,of language, learning and neurological. These guidelines make Web content more usable even by older people with changes in skills due to aging and often improve general usability for all users.


Non-compliance is punishable by law

Currently they are obliged to follow the regulations:

  • the Public Administrations, for which the'art. 9 of the so-called 'Stanca Law', attributes to the 'responsible managers' (Art. 9 paragraph 1) of the Public Providing Entities the managerial and disciplinary responsibility relating to the observance of the rules for which they are envisaged administrative sanctions.

  • the Companies operating in Italy with an average turnover exceeding 500 million euros in the last three years for which,following reports of inaccessibility by users to the competent authorities, a short deadline for compliance is set which, if not respected, entails an administrative fine that can reach 5% of turnover.

In any case, the Stanca Law provides for the right of the discriminated person to act personally through legal channels.

Who needs to be accessible:

In Italy, according to the c.d. 'Legge Stanca' which transposes the 'European Accessibility Act', as early as 23 September 2020 full compliance with the WCAG 2.1 standards is required for the following categories:

Public administrations

Economic public bodies

Transport companies

Regional municipal companies

Public law bodies

IT service contractors

Telecommunications companies

Public Assistance and Rehabilitation Bodies

Large companies (with turnover exceeding 500 million euros)

Private Companies Concessionaires of Public Services

All subjects who benefit from public contributions or subsidies for the provision of their Services through information systems or the Internet


Protect yourself with the certificate!

In the interface you will find a text that can be used to fill in your Accessibility Declaration required by the AgID. This is a text that can be consulted by all, in which the adjustments made to make the site accessible are explained.